Home About Us Members Only Events Resources and links Join GSHMM Contact Us
See Also
Member Information
About Us
Board of Directors

The Board of Directors (BOD) is an elected body from the CHMM certified members, in good standing with the Chapter and the AHMP. This body is responsible for the direction of the Chapter and the implementation of actions requested by the members. The by-laws of the chapter provide specific requirements, duties, and guidance for the Board of Directors.

The GSHMM elects a new Board of Directors every year. The term is from July 1 – June 30.

GSHMM Board of Directors 2018-2019



Donna Ratkowski


Donna Ratkowski has over 30 years of environmental and regulatory experience. She has been employed since 1990 by Afton Chemical Corporation (formerly Ethyl Petroleum Additives, Inc.) in beautiful downtown Sauget, Illinois. She has primary responsibilities in the Air Permitting and Compliance programs but also has extensive experience in wastewater pretreatment, SARA/CERCLA reporting, and hazardous waste disposal. Prior to her employment at Afton, Ms. Ratkowski was in charge of the Wastewater Pretreatment Program for the Arkansas Department of Pollution Control and Ecology in Little Rock, Arkansas. Ms. Ratkowski lives with her husband (and the dog) in a 100-year-old home in Maplewood, Missouri. She holds a B.S. in Chemistry from the University of Missouri - Rolla and a M.S. in Environmental Engineering from the University of Arkansas. She is a registered Professional Engineer in Illinois and received CHMM certification in 1995. She has served on the GSHMM Board of Directors since 2001.



Jonathan Eckles

president - elect

Bio coming doon



Shana Lawson


Shana Lawson has been working in the environmental arena for 8 years. After acquiring a B.S. in Environmental Science from Maryville University, she began working for Clean Harbors. Shana has received hands on experience at two major R&D facilities in St. Louis and has received extensive training in managing and shipping hazardous materials. 

She later transitioned to an EHS management position with Chemline, Inc. located in St. Louis, MO. Shana is responsible for facility EHS compliance at Chemline, Inc. and specializes in DOT and RCRA regulations. 

Shana recently became a Certified Hazardous Materials Manager (CHMM) and has been a member of the GSHMM since 2013, and is currently serving as the Treasurer on the board of directors.


Emile Poisson


Bio coming soon



Meredith Springs

Director-at-Large / MEETINGS

Photo and profile coming soon!



Matt Grey

Director-at-Large / OUTREACH

Matt Grey is the General Manager for SET Environmental running the St Louis division of this full service environmental company.  During his career he has worked on numerous facets in the environmental industry.  Matthew has managed some of the largest superfund cleanups in the US, developed sustainability zero landfill programs in manufacturing and built comprehensive environmental solutions.  He has also been integral in special projects such as changing Mercury regulations, Glass Recycling and Rare Earth Elements supply.  He has worked in the environmental industry since 2000 including as a LQG, a TSDF and environmental service organization.


Chris King

Director-at-Large / Outreach

Chris King serves as the director of the Center for Environmental Education & Training and the Midwest OSHA Education Center at Saint Louis University where he teaches environmental and occupational health.  During his career of 35+ years he has worked in a variety of areas including water quality research, water and wastewater operations, hazardous materials management, lead hazards and occupational safety and health.  King became a member of GSHMM in 1998 and has been hosting the EHMM course ever since then.  He became a CHMM in 2005.



Bob Presley

Director-at-Large / government affairs

Bob Presley is Managing Principal of Eagle Environmental Management, LLC since its founding in 2004.  He has over 34 years of engineering project management experience with the last 27+ being focused in the EHS arena in 35 states and Canada.  
Bob is a Certified Engineering Technologist, C.T. (Mechanical); a Certified Hazardous Materials Manager, (Master Level); an Associate Engineering Technologist, A.T. (Air Pollution Control); an ISO 14001 Trained Lead Auditor; and, a Licensed Real Estate Broker – Missouri.  He has a B.S. Mechanical Engineering Technology (Cum Laude), University of Tennessee.  He has been a CHMM since 1997.



Josh Gardner

Director-at-Large / SPECIAL PROJECTS

Photo and bio coming soon.



Jennifer Spalding

Director-at-Large / WEBSITE

jenJen Spalding has over 20 years of environmental and safety experience. She is currently employed by Ameren and maintains corporate programs for EPRCA, RCRA, RMP, and TSCA compliance, as well as managing remediation, demolition, and waste disposal projects. Her previous work included providing hazardous waste disposal services and training.

Ms. Spalding obtained her Bachelor of Science in Geology and Geophysics from University of Missouri-Rolla . She obtained her CHMM in 2004, has been a member of GSHMM since 2003, and joined the Board of Directors as the Meetings Chairperson in 2004 and is currently GSHMM's webmaster.

phone: (314) 554-2210


Mary Juan


Mary Juan has been working in the environmental field for over 18 years. She has been employed since 2012 by Environmental Operations, Inc. (EOI) as an environmental engineer, focusing mainly on regulatory compliance in the areas of NPDES permitting, SWPP plans, SPCC plans, air permitting, vapor intrusion, and compliance auditing. Previous work experience includes environmental compliance work in the Anheuser-Busch corporate affairs department and at McFarland Cascade in Tacoma, Washington. Mary has also served as a water resources engineer with the U.S. Peace Corps in Thailand. Mary lives with her husband, Peter, 3 kids and 3 cats in St Charles, Missouri. She is originally from Michigan and has a BS in chemical engineering from MSU. She is a registered professional engineer in Missouri and Illinois, and has been a registered CHMM since 2011. 


2017-2018 Lynn Taber
2016-2017 Mary Juan
2015-2016 Myron Lewis
2014-2015 Bob Presley
2013-2014 Emile Poisson
2012-2013 Gregg Hagerty

2011-2012: Jonathan Eckles
2010-2011: Laura Andrew
2009-2010: Brad Phillips
2008-2009: Leo Oberle
2007-2008: Steve Galbierz
2006-2007: Jackie Robb
2005-2006:Carl Smith
2004-2005: Arlene Farrar
2003-2004: Carol Murphy
2002-2003: CHris Cahnovsky
2001-2001: Dennis Nagy
2000-2001: Juliette Travous
1999-2000: Mark Hall
1998-1999: Murray Meierhoff
1997-1998: Darrell Woolery
1996-1997: Donna Hall
1995-1996: Dennis Dubitsky
1994-1995: Louis Baggett
1993-1994: John Skarin
1992-1993: Gerald LaMotte
1991-1992: Wilson "Woody" Powell
1990-1991: Rodney Blose





Last updated: March 8, 2019